There are two ways to recertify your Gerontological Specialist - Certification:

  1. Recertification by examination
  2. Recertification by continuing education

GNCC Recertification Guidelines

To recertify by examination, a complete test application along with the appropriate fee must be submitted to the testing agency prior to the certification expiration date. Candidates who choose this method will be notified upon passing by the testing agency.

Access the Examination Portal

To recertify by continuing education, the following requirements must be met:

  1. Hold a current Gerontological Specialist – Certification
  2. Have accrued a minimum of 1000 hours of gerontological practice during the 5-year certification period, or professional proficiency alternative hours of equivalency. GNCC recognizes three (3) distinctive components of gerontological practice: service, education, and research. Practice may be direct or indirect, and may include:
    1. Acute or Long-Term Care
    2. Clinics or Offices
    3. Home Care or Community Health Care
    4. Surgery
    5. Education
    6. Research
    7. Administration
    8. Advocacy
    9. Consulting
  3. Have acquired eighty (80) continuing education hours during the 5-year certification period with a minimum of fifty (50) continuing education hours in gerontological health care specific topics. The remaining thirty (30) continuing education hours can be a combination of general nursing, health care, and academic.

Access the Recertification Portal

Continuing Education Hours

Continuing education hours may start accruing from the date of initial certification through the expiration date. If the previous certification application was submitted late, the continuing education hours may start accruing after the late submission date.

The number of hours submitted and the type of hours earned must meet GNCC requirements for Recertification by Continuing Education Hours.