• 36th Annual GAPNA Conference

    October 4-7, 2017 at the Gaylord Opryland Resort and Convention Center, Nashville, TN

    Focused education; lasting connections, networking, free access to the GAPNA Online Library. Earn up to 21.25 CNE contact hours.

    Click here for more information and register now!

  • Gerontology Resources for APRN Preceptors and Students ToolkitCareer Center

    The Education- and Toolkit Committees of GAPNA launched their 2017 newly revised “Gerontology Resources for APRN Preceptors and Students,” toolkit.

    The goal of this toolkit is to make geriatric and gerontological content accessible to those caring for older adults. It is designed with advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) students, preceptors, and educators in mind, and it provides a single portal to comprehensive resources.

    Learn more about the toolkit

  • Call for Abstracts:

    37th Annual GAPNA Conference
    September 26-29, 2018 in Washington, DC

    Clinical Abstracts - due December 5, 2017
    Research and Clinical Project Abstracts - due March 15, 2018
    Education Poster Abstracts - due March 15, 2018

    Get More Information

  • Poster PresentationONLINE NOW:

    2016 GAPNA Conference Poster Presentations

    Note the latest trends in the care, education, and research of the older adult population.


    View the Poster Presentations

  • The GAPNA Clinical Resource Corner

    Designed Especially
    for the Gerontological Advanced Practice Registered Nurse

    With over 105+ categories, the short features/articles contain valuable information tailored especially for Gerontological APRN's that will help them with patients, as well as increase their knowledge of this field of nursing. All of the articles directly affect, involve, and impact the elderly.

    Go to the GAPNA Clinical Resource Corner

  • FREE continuing education credit is available for the following session:

    "Palliative Care"

    (session captured at the GAPNA 2016 Annual Conference)

    Get Your Free CNE Now!


GAPNA is proud to announce a new APRN Specialty Certification in Gerontology – the APRN Gerontological Specialist. This is the only specialty certification that recognizes gerontological advanced practice nurses. 

This specialty certification will distinguish experienced APRNs who possess expert knowledge, experience, and skill in managing the complex health needs of frail older adults. GAPNA will be conducting pilot testing for this new certification examination at this year’s Annual Conference.

Complete information on certification eligibility and final exam registration will be available once pilot testing is completed. Information on how to register for the pilot test will be available shortly.

Each person who sits for the pilot test will receive feedback regarding his or her exam performance.

There are no fees associated with sitting for the pilot test, and all participants will be entered in a raffle to receive a free GAPNA Conference registration in 2018.

Pending successful pilot testing, the new certification examination is expected to be offered for the first time at the spring 2018 GAPNA Pharmacology Conference in Boston, MA.

Eligibility for Pilot Testing

Nurse practitioners interesting in taking the pilot test must have at least a master’s degree and must also be recognized by their state as an advanced practice nurse (APRN). It is also recommended, but not required for the pilot, that applicants have a minimum of 2,000 hours work experience as an APRN with experience with an older adult population. 

Become a GAPNA Member!

GAPNA Members are an elite group of APN's who advance the practice of gerontological nursing, and the well-being of the public through advocacy, dissemination of knowledge, and provision of member growth opportunities.

NOW Student Membership is available online! Membership DOES have its benefits!

Join GAPNA Now!