## United States Senate

## WASHINGTON, DC 20510

April 10, 2023

The Honorable Tammy Baldwin Chair Subcommittee on Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations Committee United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Ranking Member Subcommittee on Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations Committee United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chair Baldwin and Ranking Member Moore Capito:

We respectfully request that the Nursing Workforce Development Programs (Title VIII of the Public Health Service Act, administered by the Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA)) receive \$530 million in Fiscal Year 2024 through the Departments of Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education, and Related Agencies appropriations bill. It is imperative to remember that an investment in our nursing workforce today is a commitment to America's health care now and into the future.

Now, more than ever, it is essential that communities across the nation have access to safe, high- quality nursing care. For over five decades, the Title VIII programs have been helping to train our nation's nursing workforce. The programs bolster nursing education at all levels, from entry- level preparation through graduate study, and support academic institutions and the nurse faculty who prepare today's nursing students to be tomorrow's expert clinicians.

Title VIII Nursing Workforce and Development Programs connect patients with nursing care across a variety of settings, including community health centers, hospitals, and schools of nursing. For example, in Academic Year 2021-2022 the Title VIII Advanced Nurse Education Programs supported more than 8,800 students. In fact, Advanced Nursing Education Workforce (ANEW) Program grantees partnered with more than 2,000 training sites in primary care settings, medically underserved communities, and rural communities. Additionally, 83 percent of new nurse practitioners worked in medically underserved communities and/or rural areas after completing a HRSA-funded nurse practitioner residency or fellowship.

Title VIII programs also aim to promote a diverse nursing workforce to reflect an increasingly diverse patient population. In Academic Year 2021-2022, the Nursing Workforce Diversity program supported 10,981 students to promote the recruitment of individuals from racial and ethnic minorities underrepresented in registered nursing.

We sincerely appreciate your consideration of our request and understand the difficult decisions your Subcommittee will face in this fiscal climate. However, support for Title

VIII Nursing Workforce Development Programs is a direct investment in the nursing workforce, our nation's well-being, and the sustainability of our health care system.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey A. Merkley

**United States Senator** 

Cory A. Booker

**United States Senator** 

Christopher S. Murphy

United States Senator

Raphael Warnock

**United States Senator** 

K.,UBW-

Mark R. Warner

**United States Senator** 

Angus S. King, Jr. (

**United States Senator** 

Alex Padilla

**United States Senator** 

Robert P. Casey, Jr.

United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand

**United States Senator** 

Tammy Duckworth

Maria Cantwell
United States Senator

United States Senator

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator Peter Welch

United States Senator

Gary C. Peters
United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan

United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

I'ım Kaıne

**United States Senator** 

Jack Reed

United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

eanne Shaheen

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan
United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Jacky Rosen

**United States Senator** 

Elizabeth Warren
United States Senator

Mark Kelly

United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen

United States Senator

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Bernard Sanders

**United States Senator** 

Tina Smith

United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono

United States Senator

Robert Menendez

**United States Senator** 

United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

John Fetterman

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar